

## भारत निर्वाचन आयोग Election Commission of India

निर्वाचन रादन NIRVACHAN SADAN अशोक रोड, नई दिल्ली-110001 ASHOKA ROAD, NEW DELHI-110001

No. ECI/PN/122/2024

Dated: 18th June, 2024

## PRESS NOTE

Sub: Bye-Elections to the Legislative Councils of various States by the Members of respective Legislative Assemblies (MLAs) - reg

There are 05 casual vacancies in the Legislative Councils of 04 States by the Members of respective Legislative Assemblies. The details of the vacancies are as follows:

Name of State	Name of Member	Nature of election	Cause of vacancy	Term up to
Karnataka	Sri Jagadish Shettar	By MLAs	Resignation on 25 <sup>th</sup> January, 2024	14 <sup>th</sup> June, 2028
Bihar	Sh. Rambali Singh	By MLAs	Disqualification on 06th February, 2024	28 <sup>th</sup> June, 2026
Uttar Pradesh	Sh. Swami Prasad Maurya	By MLAs	Resignation on 20th February, 2024	06th July, 2028
Andhra Pradesh	Sri C. Ramachandraiah	By MLAs	Disqualification on 11th March, 2024	29 <sup>th</sup> March, 2027
	Sri Shaik Mohammed Iqbal	By MLAs	Resignation on 05th April, 2024	29 <sup>th</sup> March, 2027

2. The Commission has decided to hold 05 separate bye-elections to the State Legislative Councils by the Members of respective Legislative Assemblies to fill the above-mentioned vacancies as per the following common schedule: -

S. No.	Events	Dates	
1.	Issue of Notification	25th June, 2024 (Tuesday)	
2.	Last Date of making nominations	02 <sup>nd</sup> July, 2024 (Tuesday)	
3.	Scrutiny of nominations	03 <sup>rd</sup> July, 2024 (Wednesday)	
4.	Last date for withdrawal of candidatures	05 <sup>th</sup> July, 2024 (Friday)	
5.	Date of Poll	12th July, 2024 (Friday)	
6.	Hours of Poll	09:00 am- 04:00 pm	
7.	Counting of Votes	12th July, 2024 (Friday) at 05:00 pm	
8.	Date before which election shall be completed	16 <sup>th</sup> July, 2024 (Tuesday)	

